Etsy Update and Help

Standard

I opened my Etsy shop in 2009 as a way to make some extra money. Now that I’m able to devout more time to creating, I’d like make this a more serious business. Mister Penguin believes that my shop is a pipe dream, but I really would like to make it profitable. After looking over my sales for this year, I felt depressed and a bit discouraged. It’s embarrassing how badly my shop is doing, but I’m keeping it real folks. Here’s the harsh reality:

 • I only had 5 sales all year. I sold 3 vintage items and 2
     handmade items.
• My shop only averages 80 views a month.
• I only have 10 Facebook fans and 8 Twitter followers.
• This blog only averages 190 views a month and only 5 comments a month (some of which are mine).

So I started to ask myself some hard questions. Why aren’t my products selling? Are my prices too high? Or too low? Are my products not up to par? Do I have too much product diversity?

I don’t know the answers to some of these questions, but I do know that I need to improve my marketing skills. I need more people to see my products in order for more people to buy them. I also need to make or buy a light box to improve my photos. I’ve been putting it off, but not anymore.

 I also decided that I would really like to sell more art work and less vintage and sewing items. Some items have been sitting in “my shop” since I opened it in 2009. I’m going to let those listing expire and then remove them from my shop. Maybe I’ll try ebay for those!

Can you think of anything else I can do to reach customers, get more followers/fans or more readers? I need all the help I can get!

About Samantha

10 Things about me 1. I am a child of God. 2. I'm a wife and mother. 3. I homeschool my child. 4. I carry a notebook everywhere to write down or draw my ideas. 5. I have too many hobbies. 6. Creating things fills me with purpose. 7. I start more projects than I finish. 8. I love fabric. 9. I love all things retro, vintage and kitchy. 10. I drink a cup of hot tea everyday.

2 responses »

  1. For what it’s worth (don’t feel like you need to listen! =))

    The things I think most important to having a successful shop:

    1-Pictures-they are what draw people into your shop to look at something that caught their eye and then looking through your other items. I use a light box I made at home, but as long as the product is eye catching (since you sell different things than I do) it should be good.

    2-You want people to talk about your shop. Recommend it to others. Work your FB page. Offer incentives to reach a certain number of fans (ie, recommend my page to your friends! If we reach 100 fans I’ll do a small give away!) There are also pages on FB dedicated to helping you get more fans (one is called like 2 like). Not all are quality fans (people you will get business from) but you will get people in your page, looking around, and there will be some that are glad they found you.

    3- Work it everyday, even if you don’t feel like it. If you’re out looking for a new vintage item, post a cute story about it on you fan page to try and get people to get to know you and be invested not only in your shop, but you.

    4- Renew your items on Etsy. Even if it’s just one listing a day. I know it’s a 20 cent fee, but it gets you to the top of the search engines and you’re not lost on the overwhelming amount of other sellers on Etsy. Promote yourself!

    All of these things contribute to getting you moved up in the google search engine as well, which is what you want. If someone types in sweet tea, you want your shop or blog or whatever to pop up with the other search results. I’ve found it’s not so much about price, if you have what someone is looking for -they will pay for it. I agonized over pricing when I started because so much of my stuff is labor intensive, but really, how much was someone going to pay for crochet. And I’ve learned as I’ve heard from my customers, that they picked my shop over others because of the quality, not the price, so just go with your gut on pricing and the rest will follow. The stuff above though, if I go 2-3 days without doing these things, everything drops off-pages views and sales, but they pick right back up when I do the above. Hope it helps! Love ya!

    • Thank you so much Rachel. You gave me a lot of great ideas and I will get busy! I really appreciate you taking the time to advise me. I’ll let you know how your advise works for me. Love ya, too!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog.I read each and every one and appreciate your kindness.

