Green Smoothie Challenge

Standard

Green Smoothie Revolution - A Radical Leap Toward Natural Health by Victoria Boutenko

I have Fibromyalgia. I don’t know how long I’ve had it, but I was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome in 2001. CFS is often attributed to Fibromyaglia. My symptoms have fluctuated over the years, from mild to bad. Last year I was having severe symptoms a couple of times a week and could barely function. My doctor discovered my Vitamin D was low and gave me a prescription. Vitamin D made a huge difference. I had more energy and only had bad days once a week or two.  But now, a year later, my symptoms are creeping back in. I’m tired and run down. My energy is low overall and it makes me depressed. I’m having a lot of muscles spasms and soreness. I’m waking up stiff and sometimes dizzy. Basically, I’m a mess. So I started researching what I could do.

My research led me to raw foods, juices and smoothies. I found a book called Green Smoothie Revolution by Victoria Boutenko. Her book is fantastic and has a ton of recipes. She suggests that you drink at least one green smoothie a day. I decided to take on the challenge. I plan to drink at least one green smoothie a day and I plan to drink at least one vegetable juice a day. I am hoping that all these live enzymes, vitamins and minerals will reduce my Fibromyalgia symptoms. I’ll post weekly updates of my progress.

Today my green smoothie was:

2 cups frozen blueberries
1 banana
1 cup water
1 cup of kale

Blend up and  sprinkled it with cinnamon.

My veggie juice was:

1 beet
3 carrots
1 green apple
1 inch piece of peeled ginger

Juice and sprinkled it with cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg.

I noticed that I felt less run down this morning after starting the day with veggie juice.  I had celery sticks and peanut butter as a snack, and the smoothie for lunch. So far I have better energy, but I still feel tired. 

Are you up for the green smoothie challenge?

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog.I read each and every one and appreciate your kindness.

