Luscious Lemon Scones

Standard

In the May edition of Country Living magazine, I came across a recipe for Lemon Poppy Scones. Since I’m not a big fan of poppy seeds, I modified this recipe to my taste.

Luscious Lemon Scones

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

Zest of 1 large lemon

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 stick of cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks

1/2 cup light cream

1/4 cup lemon juice

Icing:

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla, optional 

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, combine first 7 ingredients (the dry).
  2. Using a pastry cutter, cut butter into the dry mixture. It should look like very coarse when you’re done.
  3. Pour in cream and lemon juice. Stir until a dough forms, but don’t overmix. I use King Arthur’s dough whisk for this.
  4. I have a scone pan, so I just drop the dough in. But for those who don’t, use your hands to form a dough ball. Transfer dough onto a parchment lines baking sheet and pat into an 8 inch disk.  Cut 8 wedges and separate so scones are 1″ apart. Bake 12- 14 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. Transfer to wire rack and cool for 15 – 20 minutes
  6. While the scones cool, mix confectioner’s sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla in a small bowl. Stir until smooth. I like my icing a little thicker, so I add more sugar until it gets thick enough to drizzle with a fork and not run everywhere.

I serve these with homemade strawberry jam and hot English Breakfast tea. Hope you enjoy!

About Samantha

10 Things about me 1. I am a child of God. 2. I'm a wife and mother. 3. I homeschool my child. 4. I carry a notebook everywhere to write down or draw my ideas. 5. I have too many hobbies. 6. Creating things fills me with purpose. 7. I start more projects than I finish. 8. I love fabric. 9. I love all things retro, vintage and kitchy. 10. I drink a cup of hot tea everyday.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog.I read each and every one and appreciate your kindness.

