A Lesson in Modesty

Standard

Yesterday my son received a free car magazine in the mail and couldn’t wait to look at it. As I’m about to hand it over, I see a bikini clad girl in the upper corner. I immediately turn and start flipping through the pages.

“Mamma, what are you doing with my car magazine?”

“I’m tearing out some pages that I don’t want you to see.”

“What pages?”

“Pages with girls that are showing too much skin. God doesn’t want you looking at that.”

“Why?”

“Because the bible says that we need to be modest. That means we need to cover up and not show too much skin.”

“Oh, ok. Are you done yet?”

After ripping out 6 pages, I hand over the magazine. Just as I’m leaving the room I hear, “Mama, you forgot this naughty girl. Can you tear her out?”

“She’s not a naughty girl, sweet pea. She just needs to cover up.”

“But can you rip her out?”

After I take care of that, I think the lesson is over. Until dinner, that is.

After cooking  over a hot stove on a hot day, I take off my short sleeve cardigan at the dinner table. Then I hear,” Mamma, you need to cover up. You are showing way too much skin!”

Don’t get too excited, everyone. I was wearing a tank top! Not even a spaghetti strap top, more of a sleeveless top. Apparently we need another lesson in what is scantily clad and what isn’t!

About Samantha

10 Things about me 1. I am a child of God. 2. I'm a wife and mother. 3. I homeschool my child. 4. I carry a notebook everywhere to write down or draw my ideas. 5. I have too many hobbies. 6. Creating things fills me with purpose. 7. I start more projects than I finish. 8. I love fabric. 9. I love all things retro, vintage and kitchy. 10. I drink a cup of hot tea everyday.

One response »

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog.I read each and every one and appreciate your kindness.

